One out of three women in the United States will be sexually assaulted in their lifetime.

NO! The Rape Documentary is the 2006-released  Ford-Foundation funded award-winning, internationally acclaimed, groundbreaking feature length film that explores the international atrocity of heterosexual rape and other forms of sexual assault through the first person testimonies, scholarship, spirituality, activism, and cultural work of Black people in the United States. Produced, written and directed by incest and adult rape survivor Aishah Shahidah Simmons, NO! also explores how rape is used as a weapon of homophobia. The film is subtitled in Spanish, French, Portuguese and English. It is also closed captioned in English.

NO! brings together leading African American scholars, theologians, artists, activists, men, women, and survivors who broke silences and taboos that hid heterosexual rape and sexual assault in African-American communities.  NO! provides viewers with the tools necessary to understand existing theories and politics intended to eradicate sexual violence, as well as to develop radical new forms of transformative resistance to rape. The on-screen participants committed themselves to reshaping patriarchal cultures of violence against Black women and Black queer communities. 

 Alice Walker, the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award- winning author of The Color Purple says,

“If the Black community in the Americas and in the world would save itself it must complete the work this film [NO!] begins.”

NO! had her world premiere at the Pan African Film Festival in Los Angeles, CA in February 2006. The documentary won the Audience Choice Award and a Juried Award at the 2006 San Diego Women Film Festival. It also won the juried Best Documentary Award at the 2008 India International Women’s Film Festival. In 2009, NO! was among the invited 50 documentaries and short narrative films from 22 countries, which were featured in the Open Frame Film Festival, which is organized by the Public Service Broadcasting Trust (PBST) in New Delhi, India.  NO! was also included in JustFilms, an online archive of social justice films that the Ford Foundation has supported over the past 30 years.

NO! is a Black feminist educational organizing tool that has been used in the global movements to end violence against women and children for over ten years and counting. 

Since 2006, NO! has been screened and distributed to racially and ethnically diverse audiences at film festivals, colleges, universities, high schools, correctional facilities, rape crisis centers, battered women’s shelters, conferences throughout the United States and Canada, across Italy, in South Africa, Spain, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia, Romania, Macedonia, Kosovo, Czech Republic, Moldova, Slovakia, Slovenia, Austria, Albania, Nepal, Bulgaria, Rwanda, Kenya, Nepal, Sierra Leone, Jordan, Burkina Faso, Peru, Colombia, Guadeloupe, Venezuela, Brazil, India, France, England, Haiti, Guam, Tahiti, St. Thomas U.S.V.I, St. Croix U.S.V.I, Puerto Rico, Turkey, Malaysia, The Netherlands, Jamaica, Bahamas, Mexico, Cuba, and Germany.